US Industrialization
This is the "IB History" page of the "IB History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IB History  

Last Updated: Oct 27, 2017 URL: http://ohs.oxford.libguides.com/ibhistory Print Guide RSS Updates

IB History Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search Digital Content (non-fiction)

Search 100s of eBooks:-

Reader - lom_1654 - gvrl

Search 1,000s of articles:

 

For home access: see the Haiku OHS Library page (under the 'Extras' tab) for passwords

 

Academic One File

Search Academic Sources:

 

For home access: see the Haiku OHS Library page (under the 'Extras' tab) for passwords

 

US History eBooks


History eBook Collection:

Over 200 titles!

 

Opposing viewpoints

Search Social Issues:

For home access: see the Haiku OHS Library page (under the 'Extras' tab) for passwords

 

Research in Context

Topic Restrictions

Good Topics:

1) can be supported with substantial information, including primary sources

2) discusses origins, purpose, value, and limitations of sources

3) does not cover events of the last twenty years

Remember:

Good topics are researchable, debatable, have a manageable scope/size and are interesting to you! Think about people, places, events and ideas that you want to learn more about.

 

eBooks

Examples of debatable questions with history topics:

Cover Art
History in Dispute - Benjamin Frankel
Addresses debated questions by offering critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe.

 

Google News Archive

Search old newspapers (think about date, location, and event)


Cover Art
Google Advanced News Search
Search by location and date

Google Cultural Institute
exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Check out "Historic Moments" for online exhibits.

 

Museums and Archives

Where is your ideal location for primary source information (a city, state, or country? library, museum or archive? university?)

Digital Public Library of America
Publication Date: April 18, 2013
Search thousands of texts, images, audio files, video files, and other resources digitized by libraries and other organizations in the United States.

World Digital Library
Primary materials from countries and cultures around the world (focus on UNESCO member countries). Free of charge and in multilingual format.

Opening History:
U.S. History Resources from Libraries, Museums, and Archives





Voice of the Shuttle: U.S. History
Collection of history resource links, categorized and organized (University of California, Santa Barbara)

Vincent Voice Library
Michigan State University - audio library dating back to 1888


Archive of California
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

Archive.org
search video, audio, music and text

Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than 90 partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.

Eurpoeana
check out exhibits!The European Library is the library aggregator for Europeana, and part of the Europeana family of services.The European Library offers access to the collections of national and research libraries in 46 countries. Researchers can cross-search over 200 million records, including over 24 million pages of full-text content and 10 million digital objects.


Primary and Secondary sources

Primary Sources (social sciences and humanities):

Primary sources of information provide first-hand accounts of the event you are researching. Generally, they are works created by the witnesses or "first recorders" of the event at or near the time it occurred. They are important sources of information to historians.  

Examples of primary sources may include:

  • contemporary accounts in newspapers, magazines and other publications from the period in question; 
  • letters, diaries, autobiographies or memoirs, photographs; 
  • government documents, reports, financial records, memos
  • creative works or other materials. 

Secondary Sources

Secondary sources are created by people who were not a witness to the event. They describe, analyze, interpret, or review the event (or the primary source). Secondary sources are likely written years after the event of interest and include additional perspectives and historical context. Recent works are valued because they include criticism and updates to scholarly knowledge on the event or topic of interest.  

Example of secondary sources may include: 

  • scholarly books or articles
  • encyclopedias
 

Off Campus Access

For home access: passwords are found on the Hakiu OHS Library page (under the 'Extras' tab) or ask at the circulation desk

Oakland University

Google Scholar

Search for academic publications: Follow citations (look up authors or the works they cited!)



 

Google Books Search

Previews or full text of books may be available here: Search for kewords within text



Historical news

 

History Resources

Cover Art
American Era's: 1600-1899
Select a volume using the grey drop down box. Then use the table of contents below to browse the topics covered for the era.

Cover Art
American Decades: Primary Documents 1900-1999
Select a volume using the grey drop down box. Then use the table of contents below to browse the topics covered for the decade.

American Decades Series
Select a volume using the grey drop down box. Then use the table of contents below to browse the topics covered for the decade.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip